The Reason 

This is about trying new things, getting out of ruts – a platform where I can share experiences and laughs, or just a place where I can rant or cry after having a bad day. I wouldn’t consider myself to be an exceptional writer, but I’ve always loved writing ever since I started writing compositions for assignments in primary school. I still remember how in the question there would be four boxes – three of them would contain picture cartoons leading up to an incident and the last box would be a question mark. We were supposed to decide what happened in the last box and then write a story about it. Usually most kids would make their compositions straightforward but I would always find a way to make it weird and twisted. Sometimes that earned me extra marks for creativity but some teachers didn’t like my unrealistic stories and I would end up with just a borderline pass. I’m pretty sure my love for writing back then came about because of all the storybooks I used to read when I was a child (I still do, occasionally, but nowadays I can hardly ever seem to find the time to sit down and relax with a good book in my hands). Reading was my escape. I loved all sorts of books – it allowed me to immerse myself into the different worlds of the characters in my favourite books and I didn’t have to worry about anything else. Some writers have an incredible way of making you feel as though you’re a part of the story, journeying along with their characters. Every time I finished reading a good book, I felt this unexplainable urge to write something that great myself.

And so I tried. I used to get all these crazy ideas for stories and I kept a tiny blue notebook where I would scribble them down. When I was around 10, I started writing my first book. Looking back at it now, it’s pretty childish but ten-year-old me thought it was the greatest achievement ever. I remember telling my mum that I was going to look for a publisher and get it published. And then I started writing another one. And another one. But here’s the thing – I never finished writing those books except the very first one. Right now I have about twenty drafts in my computer of my “books” from all those years ago. I gave up on that when I was about thirteen.

So why blogging? Even though I’ve given up on writing actual books, the desire to write is still there and it’s greater than ever. Perhaps it’s due to the fact that this is a really stressful year for me and I just need some sort of escape to calm myself down sometimes. But I think it’s mostly because I have a lot of weird thoughts, opinions and things I want to say and share, and I really just want to put it out somewhere for people to hear it (or well, read it). I’m not hoping for much with this blog but I’ve actually wanted to do it for a really long time. I wanted to create a blog in January so I could be like “2017 is my year! New year, new experiences!” or something like that  but I got too lazy and never really got around to doing it. But now it’s June and here I am – after 6 months of procrastination. And thus, this is my first blog post and it’s nothing much but there’s so much more to come. Thank you so much for reading.

till we meet again 🍁

2 thoughts on “The Reason 

Leave a Reply

