A proper introduction 

I originally planned to introduce myself in my first post but, well, I didn’t, so here’s your chance to find out more about me.

My name is Neha, which is a pretty popular Sanskrit female name which translates into ‘love’. Yes, my name literally means love. From what I’ve heard, this name is really popular in North India or among North Indian girls , but on the contrary, I’m actually South Indian. I was born in a town in Kerala, which is located in the southwest region of India. Fun fact : my dad was actually not present at the hospital when I was born because he was still in Singapore, and so he only arrived in India a few days later. And this was because I was born earlier than I was expected to. Anyway, I came to Singapore when I was less than 3 months old and I’ve been living here since then.

I have nothing much to say about my life in Singapore except that it is extremely fast-paced, busy, and stressful. Singapore is gorgeous in many ways with tons of gleaming skyscrapers and beautiful greenery and I’d consider myself pretty blessed to be living here. However, it is really hot and humid all year round and whenever I go out, it feels as though the heat is raining down on me like the breath of hell. I’m not even exaggerating (ok, maybe a little). 

I’m currently 15, turning 16 in December. Since I was born at the end of December, I’m actually the youngest person in my class, and I can’t decide if that’s a good thing or a bad thing (or perhaps it doesn’t even matter). I’m taking my O’Levels this year which is the exam that pretty much determines your entire future here after secondary school. I’m planning to go to a polytechnic to continue my studies even though I’ve been encouraged to take the junior college route. I just think that the lifestyle in JC is not what I would enjoy and I’d probably end up too lazy to study as hard as I would be required to in JC so, nope. Plus, if I went to junior college I’d still have to take mothertongue which I definitely do not want to do because I’m not willing to go for Hindi classes for another year. Oh yeah, I learn Hindi even though it’s not my actual mothertongue. My actual mothertongue is Malayalam, which is a south Indian language spoken throughout Kerala and in Malayalee households, which is what people from Kerala are called. So currently, I can speak three languages – English, Hindi and Malayalam, and I hope to make it four by the time I’m 25.

Both my parents work so I’ve had a maid since I was 3 and this year would be her thirteenth year with us. I guess this has led to me becoming slightly spoilt and a bit of brat when I was younger because I wasn’t independent at all and I was used to getting my way and being spoon-fed. However, I do need to have a sense of responsibility because I’m the oldest sibling and I have two younger brothers who are constantly at each other’s throats for the smallest and stupidest reasons. One is 13 and the other is 8 and both of them are honestly a pain in the ass but I still love them to death. 

There are many more things I want to say but time is not by my side today. I guess you’ve learnt quite a bit about me and my background now that you’re at the end of this post. Thank you so much for reading, and I’ll see you soon. 

🌻

5 thoughts on “A proper introduction 

Leave a Reply

