3 things I loved about Hong Kong 

Two weeks ago, I went on a short holiday to Hong Kong before the start of another hectic school term. I’ve been wanting to write this post ever since I came back but I never really got around to doing it because of being overburdened with all my school work. I have a pile of homework waiting for me right now, at this very moment, but I’m going to leave that aside for a while and do this instead.

1. The glorious skyscrapers 

Hong Kong was absolutely beautiful and it had tons of mesmerizing views to offer. On the first day that I was there, my family went for a stroll along Tsim Sha Tsui Promenade, which gave us a really pretty view of the Victoria Harbour. We also came back another day to watch the Light Show that they had in the evening. I’ve always loved city skylines and couldn’t help myself from snapping a few pictures.

Nearly everywhere I went in Hong Kong, I would find skyscrapers towering above me. Not that I was complaining. What really impressed me was how compact these skyscrapers were, yet they still managed to look breathtakingly beautiful, as if they were right where they were supposed to be. To be very honest, I found most of the architecture pretty impressive compared to Singapore.

2. The food!

HONG KONG CUISINE IS DELICIOUS!! It’s mainly influenced by Cantonese cuisine, but there was still a huge variety of food available wherever I went. I also noticed that there were many restaurants serving food from different authentic cuisines ; such as Vietnamese or Korean food. One of the most hardest things I had to do in Hong Kong was to decide where we should go to eat everyday.

One dish that I really liked in particular was the famous roast goose. I’ve heard that it is a traditional dish in the Cantonese cuisine and it is easily available in most local diners as well as street markets. Basically, it is a whole goose that is roasted using special ingredients and served cut into small pieces with plum sauce.

I’ll have to admit that eating the crispy skin and succulent flesh of the goose might have actually been one of the happiest moments of my entire trip.

And of course, dim sum! I feel like it’s impossible not to love dim sum – there are so many different types and varieties of them that there’s bound to be something that everyone will enjoy.

3. DISNEYLAND 

The highlight of my entire trip would definitely be going to Disneyland. It really is the happiest place on earth because no matter how old you are, the place just radiates out joy and good vibes and you’ll probably be so happy that you won’t even notice the time flying by.

I went to Disneyland twice, and that’s because on the original day that we planned to go there, there was a T8 tropical cyclon warning issued due to bad weather and the park had to close down at 3pm. We were pretty devastated but thankfully, we were told that we could come back any other day in the next 6 months and get in for free using the same ticket due to the inconvenience caused to visitors by the typhoon. So thanks to the typhoon, I got to enjoy another day at Disneyland!  


Anyway, I didn’t get to meet many characters during my time there because we were rushing to try and go on as many rides as possible and the queues to meet most of them were really long. But overall, I had a really really good time at Disneyland and I felt like a little kid who’s childhood dreams had just come true. 

                   I’ll definitely be back, I’m sure of it.

So while Hong Kong was great in many ways, the harsh reality is that I’m no longer there ,but I’m back here and oh, there’s school. Sadly.

Honestly, I can’t wait for my O’Levels to end just so that I can travel again (hopefully). But until then, I’ll just keep updating on whatever else goes on in my life. Thank you so much for reading lovely readers, until next time.

One thought on “3 things I loved about Hong Kong 

Leave a Reply

